It’s not roadkill, it’s my hair!

Here's all 10.5 inches of it which will soon be in a plastic bag and headed across the sea to Locks of Love.  I hadn't intended to cut quite this much off.  I thought I'd do the gradual long to short thing, but when I discovered that I had enough length to support this cool organization I though, heck…  Cut it off.  A strange sensation to have someone sawing off the hair at the base of your neck…  but the results are cute, I think.  And for the first time in years, I was excited to wake up this morning and do my hair (which took about 48 seconds — yeehaw!).

I do promise to post a pix of the hair that is left asap.  My daughter cut about 8 inches off her hair as well — so it was quite the party yesterday.  Course, the party started in the morning when I was able to pick up MY DRIVER'S LICENSE after completing my 30 days of suspension… which brings me to my next thought…

Did I learn anything?

Yes.  I learned that one of the reasons I drive too fast is because I'm always late and always in a hurry and I think that's because I'm juggling too many plates in the air.  Or my plates are too full?  Or the plates in the air have spaghetti flying off them in every directions as they wizz through the sky?  Yes.  Yes.  Yes.

Melissa commented recently about the problem of the "supermom."  The thing is that in my heart, I truly AM a supermom… if only because of the unspeakable love I feel for my kiddos.  The easy part is loving them, the hard part is figuring out what is best for them.  Much due to the influence of my mom, I have always felt what was best for them was that they have as many, and as rich, and as full activities in their lives as possible.  The nice part is that it keeps us from sitting in front of the TV — the not nice part is that I often run through a day exposing my children to wonderful enrichments but maybe never looking in their eyes.

Having to walk everywhere for the last 4 weeks left me with a lot more time to gaze into those beautiful brown eyes, to sing Jingle Bells and Wheels on the Bus with them & to chat about everything and nothing with my almost-teenager.  And it's reminded me that there has to be a balance somewhere…

I'm hoping that this new year will give me the chance to try out my new acts.  Fewer plates to juggle and more playing on the floor.  Cuter hair and a chance to feel more like Joelle and not just "Momma" and "Wife."  Slower driving and slower living.  We'll see.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

9 Responses to “It’s not roadkill, it’s my hair!”


  1. 1 mereditz December 21, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    I need a picture! And details. You like it? Have you achieved the head of hair you dreamed of having? Do tell.

  2. 2 Aviva December 21, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    Yeah – dying to know what it looks like. And I hear you – every time I walked to places instead of speeding there (even still in the states) it forced me to notice details & really take it all in. Maybe slow down and enjoy the small things was the lesson here, huh? Good one. 🙂 Happy holidays, can't WAIT to see the new 'do!

  3. 3 Joelle December 22, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    It actually looks an awful lot like Aviva's! I pretty much had her just fix the edges & give me some bangs after she cut the wretched ponytail off. Longer in front, etc. 🙂 Pix soon, I promise!

  4. 4 Tom December 22, 2007 at 11:08 pm

    You have done a great thing by donating your hair. You are right, it is a great organization. I hope you are able to follow through with your plans to find the balance that you are looking for.

  5. 5 OkinawaMama December 23, 2007 at 9:14 am

    Didn't get a chance to tell you yesterday that the hair looks awesome! And I'm glad you donated it. I have the tendency to let mine grow long then chop it off but I've never taken the time to figure out how to donate.

  6. 6 Daniela December 24, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    Funny,I just recently cut my hair off too. I was considering donating it to locks of love but didn't know how to go about it. Seems silly now, I should have just held on to it and send it somehow:)I am in a position that seems different from most of the people here. I am older and my children are older too. I look back and remember how I used to please everybody and do the best I can for them. I remember being in labor with #3 and #2 had a concert that day. I considered going there, in labor, because he was all dressed and ready to go, until my friend told me I am insane.Now to my point, I am not sure about all those activities and our scheduled lives. I hate being in a hurry. Luckily I make my own schedule at work and I always wonder if I am working enough. Then I think; is the job getting done. If it is, I am.Take time for yourself and your husband. Be selfish! Get a sitter and enjoy yourself. I am going camping for New Years, just my honey and I. The kids love being by themselves anyways:)I learned that my children will tell me when something is really important to them. If it is I make sure they get there on time!The most important thing is communication; as my children grew up I learned that some things I thought were important to me were not important to them at all.So, sometimes, it's okay to be selfish and not hurry to places we think they should be.I want to say that #1 is 23, #2 is 20 and #3 is 12.My mom used to say that nothing is eaten as hot as it is cooked. If that makes any sense since I translated it from German.How did I get here from cutting hair????Daniela

  7. 7 Dixie D. Reed December 25, 2007 at 1:25 am

    Can't wait to see the hair.

    As a master juggler, who taught you way too well, I'm proud of you for sitting back and considering what you're doing rather than adding more plates.

    Love you,
    Ma

  8. 8 Adena December 27, 2007 at 12:33 am

    Happy Holidays! Looking forward to seeing the new do. I cut about the same amount 2 summers ago and donated to Locks of Love as well. It's great knowing it's going to someone who needs it more than we do. As for the juggling, I think it's something we all do and just about everyone I know could do with a little slowing down.
    Adena

  9. 9 Joelle January 2, 2008 at 12:33 am

    Have to say you hit me right in the gut, Daniela, with this line, "as my children grew up I learned that some things I thought were important to me were not important to them at all." I REALLY struggle with this. There are things in my head that are "supposed" to be done by good moms but then in the midst of them I sometimes think — WAIT, NO one is enjoying this or learning anything from this or anything… I need to be clear what things I'm doing because I think they are truly important for my children's growth and development and what things I'm doing just cuz I think I should. Thanks for the reminder.


Leave a comment